Road Race Grand Prix

2015 saw the first ever EAC Road Race Grand Prix championship held and our two overall champions Neil Renault and Charlotte Garry crowned.  Full results from 2015 can be seen here.









The Road Race Grand Prix is now back for its second year and all the details you need to compete are listed below.

How does it work?

Runners must complete at least 5 road races from a list of identified races throughout 2016. These will be known as club championship qualifying races. The list is set out below.

Races will be designated as either Short Races (5k; 5mile); Medium Races (10k; 10mile) or Long Races (half marathon; marathon).

In order to qualify for the overall championship runners MUST complete a race from each of these categories, plus any two other races, as long as they are on the list of approved races.

You can race as much as you like and only your best times will count!

You can do your races in any order, so medium race, followed by a short race, then another short race, a long race, and then another medium.

How you do it is up to you and your training programme – just so long as you do at least one race from each category, plus another 2 races.

How do you score points?

Points are scored based on the time you run in a race. The faster you run, the more points you score. Simples.

A link to the scoring chart is here.

  • For example if you run a 5k in 18.46 you will score 103 points. If you run 37.10 in a 10k you will score 111points.

Owing to the distance of the short and long laps of National Road relays being slightly off 5k and 10k – we have a special scoring system to reflect this in this race.  

You will also get 5 bonus points for every Scottish Road Race Championship you complete.

See the points scoring table by here.

How do you win?

The person with the most points scored from their 5 qualifying race at the end of the season will be the winner.

There will be prizes for the first three males and first three females. There will also be a prize for first place V40, V50, V60 male and female.

Prizes will be presented at the Annual Christmas party.

Approved Races 2016 (Other races will be added)

Races will be updated monthly depending on new and existing races appearing in the Scottish Athletics Calendar. All Scottish and East District Championship Road races will feature, and an emphasis will be given to races in the East of Scotland.


·         5th March – KB5, 5 mile (Short)

·         6th March – Lasswade 10 mile (Medium)

·         12th March – Cupar 5 mile (Short)

·         13th March – Inverness Half Marathon (Long)

·         20th March – Alloa Half (Long)

·         3rd April – Scottish Athletics Road Relays (short/Medium) *Scottish Championship Race*

·         2nd April – Dunbar 10k (Medium)

·         10th  April – Tom Scott 10mile (Medium) *Scottish Championship Race*

·         10th April – Grangemouth 10k (Medium)

·         17th April – Great Edinburgh Run 10 Mile (Medium)

·         26th April – London Marathon (Long)

·         6th May  – Scottish 5k Road Championships – Silverknowes (short) *Scottish Championship Race*

·         8th May – Gala Harriers 10k

·         14th May – Loch Leven Half marathon (Long)

·         28-29th May – EMF 5k (Short) 10k (Medium) Half (Long) Marathon (Long)

·         1st June – CAAC 5Mile (Short)

·         xx June – Haddington 10k (Medium)

·         xx July  – Brig Bash 5Mile (Short)

·         July (tbc) – Musselburgh 10k (Medium)

·         August (tbc) – Forfar 10k (Medium)

·         August (tbc) – Haddington Half Marathon (Long)

·         August (tbc) – Forth Road Bridge 10k (Medium)

·         18th September – Scottish Half Marathon (Long) and 10k (Medium)

·         Xx September (tbc) – Stirling 10k (Medium) *Scottish Championship Race*

·         25th September – Loch Ness Marathon (Long) *Scottish Championship Race*

·         xx October – Great Scottish Run, Glasgow – half Marathon (Long) *Scottish Championship Race*


* 5 Bonus Points for Scottish Championship Race

**Times for any IAAF measured road marathon run between 1st March and 31st October 2016 may be included by runners **


Other races to be added.


Any questions, then please get in touch with Richard Meade:







  • Support Edinburgh Athletic Club

  • Award Badges 2016

  • Our Podium Award