A good first foot for Ben

Well done to Ben Robbins in winning  the 144th running of the famous New Year [Powderhall] 110 metres Sprint handicap at Musselburgh Racecourse.

In one of the closest and most open  finals in years, Ben stormed up the rain-softened track from the 7.5 metres mark to stop the clock at 12.14 seconds to land  the £4000 prize and Eric Liddell Memorial medal.

Making it an Edinburgh AC 1-2 was Keiran Reilly[12.29s] who just edged out Gemma Nicol, Dunfermline West Fife AC[12.32] for the runners-up spot.      

Lasswade AC pair Jordan Charters[12.38] and Charlie Carstairs[12.50] finished 4th and 5th, the Borders representation in the final came from Hawick duo David Rae[12.56] and 2009 winner Leigh Marshall[12.59] who were 6th and 7th with Allan Hamilton[12.59], Edinburgh AC who was backmarker in the final off 4 metres in 8th place.

Read the full report here: http://www.scottishathletics.org.uk/index.php?p=17&itemType=news&itemId=6859

Full results here: http://www.sportingworld.co.uk/cgi-bin/newyearsprint/displaysprintfullresults.pl?Year=2013&day=2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Our Podium Award

  • Club Gallery

  • Club Stats

  • Support Edinburgh Athletic Club

  • Award Badges 2019

  • Archives